Io prendo te, tu prendi me (The Declaration of Consent)

I have no experience with marriage (simply because I am against it) but I have watched a great number of films and I have also attended lots of marriage ceremonies when the plot goes like this … “Will you have one another to be a husband and wife; to live together in the covenant of marriage? Will you love each other, comfort and support, honor and keep one another, in sickness and in health; and forsaking all others, be faithful as long as you both shall live?” …  And then the answers are always (almost always 😉 ) “I will”.

This Declaration of Consent is always proven by wedding and engagement rings, a visible symbol of  spouses’ devotion, love and spiritual union till the end of their life, on the fourth finger of the left hand where vena amoris is. And do you know how Sardinian faith is declared? Well, in the same way but their faith is called fedesarda and there is a nice legend related to the island’s mythology. Continue reading

