Leaplings – Blessed and Unique :-)

Leap year babyLeap year babies (or known as simply leaplings) are rare species. They are said to be blessed and unique and for sure, it’s true. They were born under a lucky star and from the very begging they are a little bit “different” from the rest. Why?

Let’s have some simple mathematical calculations. The possibility of being born namely on that day is 0.0684% or 1 in 1461. You know that a leap day is once in four years, so 1 out of 3 x (365) +366= 1461. Moreover, this is a slight overstatement, since there is no leap day at the century marks unless the century is evenly divisible by 4. For instance, 2000 was a leap year because 20 is evenly divisible by 4 but 1900 wasn’t because 19 isn’t evenly divisible by 4. Soooo, leap year babies are extremely rare, indeed, and there is no doubt about it. 🙂

Leap year baby_2And now I’d like to share some “personal experience” as a leap year baby. 🙂 I am always asked two questions: “When do you celebrate your birthday on February 28 or March 01?” and “How old are you exactly?” There is also one comment that is always made: “Woow, unbelievable, you are the first person, born on February 29, whom I know!

Some time ago I came upon a very interesting article telling that those who were born before noon should celebrate on February 28 while the ones born after 12:01p.m. should have their birthday parties on the first day of March. Well, I am not a supporter of that theory at all. And do you know why? It’s known in Bulgaria that celebrating in advance doesn’t bring luck and that’s why I myself celebrate my birthday on March 1 in a non-leap year even though I am a “morning baby”.

Leap year baby_3There is another peculiar fact nowadays. In our hi-tech century when we are surrounded by social media & messengers plus there is a time zone difference, actually, I celebrate three days in a row starting from the late hours of February 27 and ending on March 1. 😀 I have Indian friends who congratulate me first on February 27. Then facebook and skype, for example, show to my online friends that I have a birthday on February 28 and I receive birthdays posts and messages all day long. And finally, on the 1st day of March I receive the best wishes from my friends who know I am used to having a fake birthday namely on that day in a non leap year. Yeah, it’s amazing, isn’t it? 🙂

Regarding the age of leaplings, I will say only two things. We never age and we remain forever young. Who is like us, a? And maybe this is the most fantastic thing in the whole story of being born on February 29.

Yours faithfully,

Leapling at the age of 8 and a half 😉

4 thoughts on “Leaplings – Blessed and Unique :-)

  1. Pingback: The Rivals to Florence’s Medici | Smile...Laugh...Travel...Love...Be yourself...Enjoy Life

  2. Pingback: Much Awaited ….. Yesssss | Smile...Laugh...Travel...Love...Be yourself...Enjoy Life

  3. Pingback: Much Awaited ….. Yessss | Smile...Laugh...Travel...Love...Be yourself...Enjoy Life

  4. Pingback: Keep Your Inner Child Alive | Smile...Laugh...Travel...Love...Be yourself...Enjoy Life

Ping me whenever you want to :)

